Sunday, 21 January 2018
Home > News > Opinion
Opinion
Does MUSD Trustee Lynn Cogdill Live in Madera? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by Jack Porter   
Monday, 20 October 2014 18:47

EDITORIAL - Where does Madera Unified Trustee Lynn Cogdill really live? He and his wife own houses in both Madera and Bakersfield. His wife hasn't lived here in Madera for years and when Mr. Cogdill had his heart attack earlier this year he was treated at a Bakersfield hospital. His cell phone number is a Bakersfield phone number. The bank for his re-election campaign is Kern Schools Federal Credit Union in Bakersfield. In the last four years he has written editorials in the Bakersfield Californian Newspaper where he is credited with being a member of the Madera Unified School District's Board of Trustees but in the same story identified as a resident of Bakersfield. So where does Lynn Cogdill call 'home?'

Read more...
 
MUSD Trustee Attacks Big Valley News Over Felon Story Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Tuesday, 02 September 2014 23:35

EDITORIAL - I was made aware of a rather nasty post made about me and this publication by Mr. Lynn Cogdill today. In fact I learned today that Mr. Cogdill got up in front of the Madera Unified School District Board of Trustees and accused me of being a 'SMUT DEALER' and Big Valley News being a 'SMUT MAGAZINE.'

What can I say? It is not as though I can have a battle of wits with Mr. Cogdill. In my opinion, he is an unarmed opponent. In order to fight with Mr. Cogdill I would have to sink to his level and I kind of like it up here on the high moral ground.

Read more...
 
EDITORIAL: Convicted Violent Felon Hired By Madera Unified Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 25 August 2014 12:16

EDITORIAL - If you or I as parents want to visit our children's school at Madera Unified we would have to go to the office and sign in. Then maybe we might be allowed to go to our child's classroom or more than likely our child will be brought up to the front and we wouldn't be allowed passed the main office.

But now at Madera Unified, thanks to Superintendent Ed Gonzales, a convicted violent felon has access to any campus he wants to visit and any child he wants to interview and there is nothing parents can do about it.

Read more...
 
Slate Mail Ads - Paid Endorsement or Political Trickery Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 12 May 2014 21:07

EDITORIAL -  In the next few weeks, if not already, your mailbox is going to be filled with advertisements and brochures for candidates for every position on this June's ballots. The message will be "Vote for me because" or "Don't vote for him because".

Positive ads as well as negative ads designed by public relations firms will try to sway your vote to the candidate willing to spend the most money. Then there are other mailers that will look like endorsements from powerful groups that aren't what they seem. These mailers are called SLATE MAIL ADS and they can be quite deceptive.

Read more...
 
Bad Sportsmanship in Little League is a Sign of Bad Coaching Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 28 April 2014 20:14

EDITORIAL - Over the years I used to look forward to when my daughter's Little League team would play Cervantes Remodeling. At that time the team was being taught baseball and class from one of the best coaches I've ever seen in Little League, Larry Cervantes.  

Unfortunately this year Larry isn't coaching. Instead his team is being handled by two newer coaches; one being Larry's former Son-in-law and the other being a sexist jerk.  From the example they are setting, I'd have to say it doesn't seem that teaching sportsmanship and class is something these coaches find at all important.

Read more...
 
Did County Auditor Marcia Hall Tell The Truth at Madera Chamber Forum? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Saturday, 05 April 2014 08:35

MADERA - Last Monday at the Madera Chamber of Commerce Candidate's Forum appointed Madera County Auditor Marcia Hall was asked two questions regarding her private practice CPA firm and her primary residence. On both questions Mrs. Hall avoided the word MERCED. Her answers can most accurately be described as evasive and/or defensive. On the answers for both questions Big Valley News had to ask for clarification, speaking from the audience.

Madera Tribune publisher Chuck Doud asked both county auditor candidates where their private practice CPA firms were located. Oakhurst CPA Todd Miller clearly answered that his firm was located in Oakhurst and offered information about the size of his firm and the kind of work his firm does for his clients.

Read more...
 
Marcia Hall: Full Time County Auditor or Private CPA? - Full Time Madera or Merced Resident? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Tuesday, 25 March 2014 09:57

MADERA - In January of 2012 Marcia Hall was appointed to complete the term of former Madera County Auditor/Controller Janet Kroeger by a unanimous vote from the Madera County Board of Supervisors. However no one advised Ms. Hall at the time that as an (appointed) elected official, she had to live in Madera County in order to hold that position.

A year later the board realized that the advice given to them by former county counsel Doug Nelson was wrong and that Hall would have to move to Madera County from Merced if she wanted to continue in her current (appointed) elected position. For the next several months Hall claimed she was looking for a house to rent in the Chowchilla area and each time she spoke at the weekly board of supervisors meetings it seemed like her search for a Madera County residence was a running joke that the board was in on.

Read more...
 
«StartPrev1234567NextEnd»

Page 3 of 7

Tell a Friend

Masthead

BIG VALLEY MEDIA
1625 Howard Road #133
Madera, California 93637
(559) 477-4275

JW Porter - Publisher/Editor
Over 6 Million Served Since 1997

Make Us Your Homepage

ADMIN