Sunday, 21 January 2018
Home > News > Opinion
Opinion
Madera Unified Delaying Records Turn Over on Trustee's Taxpayer Paid Dinners Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Tuesday, 04 March 2014 10:29
EDITORIAL - What is the Madera Unified School District hiding from the public related to the dinners the board of trustees receive before each and every meeting?

Last week Big Valley News issued a public records request for information about dinners which the district provides it's trustees before their twice a month meetings. This morning we received a call from the district informing us they are delaying our legal California Public Records Act request, wanting us to resubmit our request on yet another form.

Read more...
 
Madera High Coach Questions Parents Loyality - What a Boner of a Move? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Thursday, 31 October 2013 15:03

AN EXCLUSIVE BIG VALLEY NEWS EDITORIAL

MADERA
- What does Madera High School varsity football coach Bonner Cunnings do when he hears bad news? The same thing the administration of the school has done for the last five years....shoot the messenger.

Last year Big Valley News wrote a series of stories on former head coach Scott McKinney's final year with the football program. The year started with a  scrimmage which degenerated into a riot involving recent Madera High players and possibly current players. Questions stand to this day about the participants because the administration refused to share the game video of the melee claiming it was classified as 'student records'.

Read more...
 
Where is the American Flag at the New McDonald's? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Thursday, 11 October 2012 00:00

MADERA - Well it is back after an absence of three months and everyone on Madera's west-side couldn't be happier. I am of course speaking of McDonald's on Howard Road. Driving by the new building that houses the Big Mac, Quarter Pounder with Cheese and of course the Chicken McNuggets, the lines in the new double menu drive through are always packed and the restaurant looks busy.

I had hoped that the industry leader in good food made fast would have found away to make the Big Mac's and McMuffin's coexist in their restaurant for breakfast but this did not happen. How about figuring out how to melt a piece of cheese before I am given my sandwich. I mean how hard is it to melt cheese?

Read more...
 
Travel Softball Whines About Increased City Fees! Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Friday, 05 October 2012 00:47

ANOTHER BVN EXCLUSIVE EDITORIAL

MADERA
- Some folks are a little upset at the city regarding increases in field usage fees for travel softball teams. Six supporters of travel teams stood in front of the Madera City Council Wednesday night to voice their concerns during the public comment portion of the meeting.

They say the increases in fees have become too expensive for most of the teams and some may be forced to find alternative places to practice and play. Some teams may even be forced to disband leaving fewer opportunities for female youth to participate.

Read more...
 
Print Newspapers Are Dead - Get The Shovels Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Wednesday, 29 August 2012 21:01

MADERA - The printed newspaper is dead. When the Internet exploded into everyone's homes with high speed connections, the diagnoses was given and it didn't look very good for traditional newspapers. Now that the news is as close as your computer, television, smart-phone or tablet, who needs ever purchase a print newspaper again?

I once had a conversation with Madera Tribune publisher Chuck Doud. We discussed the future of print newspapers. Chuck bleeds news ink and of course defended the product he does a great job of turning out. I on the other hand had made a simple statement that seems to be very true today, "Printed newspapers will only survive until someone invents a handheld device which lets you get the entire Internet in the bathroom."

Read more...
 
Riot at Madera High Football Scrimmage: Admin Says Public Has No Right to Know Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Friday, 24 August 2012 00:00
MADERA - While the Dinuba game ended without incident, last weeks scrimmage at Madera High's Memorial Stadium with Tulare Union ended in a riot. One Madera coach was hit by a Tulare Union player and several former Madera players from last seasons team jumped into the bench clearing brawl that by all accounts was started by the Tulare Union players.
Read more...
 
The Death of My Uncle: The Examination of My LIfe Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Friday, 10 August 2012 22:33

A Look at My Own Life After The Death of My Uncle
 by Jack W Porter, Jr.

I just learned my uncle, James Fry, died last week at the age of 78. He had been suffering from cancer for the last few years and it had spread into his brain. His family had refused to allow my mother to see him but a few weeks ago I learned he was at Community Regional Medical Center and I made arrangements for her to visit with him one last time.

I respected his family's wishes and did not go to see him myself. My mother, however, after having heard his illness had progressed to the point that he had been admitted to the hospital, was having trouble sleeping and said that she felt she needed to take what might be her last opportunity to tell her brother that she loved him one last time. So I helped her find him. Apparently he welcomed her visit and for an hour they were as close as they used to be.

Read more...
 
«StartPrev1234567NextEnd»

Page 4 of 7

Tell a Friend

Masthead

BIG VALLEY MEDIA
1625 Howard Road #133
Madera, California 93637
(559) 477-4275

JW Porter - Publisher/Editor
Over 6 Million Served Since 1997

Make Us Your Homepage

ADMIN