Wednesday, 17 January 2018
Home > News > Opinion
Opinion
Save The Parade? Isn't It Already Paid For By Parking Taxes? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Thursday, 05 July 2012 05:48


ANOTHER EDITORIAL FROM BIG VALLEY NEWS:


MADERA -  This morning in the Madera Tribune, James Glynn asks Madera citizens to file into the city council chambers tonight to save the Madera Old Timers Day Parade.

Now I love the parade as much as anyone. I haven't missed a parade in years I appreciate all the hard work the Madera Kiwanis Club does to bring events to downtown Madera like the parade, the wine stroll and the Halloween parade. The only question I have for Mr. Glynn is why do we have to save the parade that is already paid for with downtown parking taxes?

Read more...
 
Hey Little League: It's River Park's Time To Shine Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 18 June 2012 23:40
Another Big Valley News Exclusive Editorial

It's All Star season again for our Little Leaguers and this next week the District 10 tournament will kick off in Reedley and Madera with individual games being played at Sunnyside, Chowchilla and River Park.

For the last few years District 10 has also hosted a sectional tournament for the three divisions (9-10, 10-11 or 11-12) that we have in this half of the old Section 6. Some towns also support the junior and senior divisions of Little League for their teenage players and District 10 has hosted sectionals for that age group as well in Turlock and Los Banos.
Read more...
 
Teacher's Negligence Creates Dangerous Situation For John Adams Student Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Tuesday, 22 May 2012 23:51

MADERA - Sometimes I need to violate one of the first rules of journalism, "Don't be a part of the story or report from the first person perspective". After what happened last night at the Madera Unified Spring Concert at Lincoln Elementary, I again get to pull out my first person voice and tell you a story of a woman that does not belong in education and an administration that is worse than the previous administration the district sent back to the classroom.

First of all I must confess that I did not demonstrate model behavior. Sometimes an over-protective father takes over my brain and I want to stop the people that have hurt my kids. Last night was a good example of this.

Read more...
 
What is Judge Wieland's Problem With The United States Marines Corp & Voters Rights? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Tuesday, 24 April 2012 09:12

Another Exclusive Big Valley News Editorial: Monday I was reading the Letters to the Editor section of the Madera Tribune and local judge Charles Wieland decided to write an endorsement of Joseph Soldani for Madera County Superior Court Judge.

I always thought judges tried to avoid local politics and hold themselves to a higher standard by never slinging mud. It surprised me that a sitting judge would write a letter that was so slamming of a man that has only put himself out there to serve his country and community. But what surprised me the most was how something written by that same sitting judge could be so libelous?

Read more...
 
What the Hell is the Madera Tribune Thinking Supporting SOPA & PIPA? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Friday, 20 January 2012 12:16

Another Exclusive Big Valley News Editorial

Madera
- There are some that might not believe that I am a subscriber of the Madera Tribune. I have been a big fan of the current publisher, Chuck Doud, ever since he and a group of local citizens took ownership of the paper a few years back. There are also some that may remember that during the early years of the old Madera Online, we would battle with the Tribune and its host of former publishers from Paul Bittick to Rocky Hayes (no relation to Les Hayes).

Read more...
 
California’s Redevelopment Nightmare Coming To An End Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Saturday, 31 December 2011 14:40

Arlington, Virginia - In a landmark victory for private property owners in the Golden State, the California Supreme Court today upheld a statute abolishing the nearly 400 redevelopment agencies across the state. The court also struck down a law that would have allowed these agencies to buy their way back into existence. The final outcome of the case is that, in 2012, California’s decades-long redevelopment nightmare will finally come to an end.
Read more...
 
Has Downtown Madera Grown Apart From Downtown Association? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Wednesday, 30 November 2011 21:31

Another Big Valley News Exclusive Editorial

Madera
- Thursday night folks who would never think of venturing past the railroad tracks into Downtown Madera after dark will stroll around with wine glasses or cider mugs filling maps with rubber stamps to win a $500 shopping spree at stores they’ve never shopped at before. Yes its time for the annual Madera Downtown Association’s “Candlelight Christmas Parade & Wine Stroll”.

Read more...
 
«StartPrev1234567NextEnd»

Page 5 of 7

Tell a Friend

Masthead

BIG VALLEY MEDIA
1625 Howard Road #133
Madera, California 93637
(559) 477-4275

JW Porter - Publisher/Editor
Over 6 Million Served Since 1997

Make Us Your Homepage

ADMIN