Thursday, 18 January 2018
Home > News > Opinion
Opinion
Conflict of Interest For Sheriff John Anderson To Nail Drunk Drivers? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 13 June 2011 21:48
Another Exclusive Big Valley News Editorial

Madera County
-
Saturday night while I was driving west on Avenue 12 in Madera County I came across a drunk driver near the Madera Center. I called 911 to alert the California Highway Patrol. On the first call the phone disconnected on the transfer. On the second call I received a recorded message and was put on hold.

While on hold the drunk driver turned off of Avenue 12 and started heading in the direction of the Madera County Sheriff’s Department so I called them directly only to hear the dispatcher say “We do not handle traffic or drunk drivers. We send those to the CHP.”

Read more...
 
Condiment or Topping: Is Me N Ed’s Setting Trend Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Sunday, 05 June 2011 17:57

END RANCH DRESSING SURCHARGES

Madera - Me n Ed's Pizza is probably the best example of California brick oven pizza on the West Coast. The toppings are fresh and the dough passes the ultimate test, it is still great the next day cold. The problem isn't with the pizza, the service or even the restaurant but something that I hope doesn't become a trend; charging for ranch dressing.

Read more...
 
Where the Hell is Madera North? Where the Hell is the Coyote Bear? Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Friday, 03 June 2011 20:37

Story Update: The Coyote Bear is Back at Black Bear!

Madera
- Where the hell is Madera North? I don’t know how many times a week I hear a life long resident of Madera refer to this city’s original high school as “North”.

Just this week the secretary for the principal at Madera South, who I think was in the original graduating class at Madera High a hundred and fourteen years ago, referred to MHS as “North”

Read more...
 
An Experience in Poop at Madera Community Hospital Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Saturday, 14 May 2011 19:55

Madera -  My youngest daughter’s doctor needed a “stool” sample that we would have to transport to the Madera Community Hospital’s laboratory within an hour entering the world. I don’t really want to get into the details how we had to get the sample in the cup. I am just happy that it was solid but concerned that it was green. Is that to much information?

Well I hit the road with her sample in hand, well the cup in hand, and made my way to the hospital. I called my ex-wife who took my daughter to the doctor to find out exactly where this cup of green poop had to go.

Read more...
 
Conflict of Interest in Madera National Little League Photos Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Thursday, 14 April 2011 07:50
ANOTHER EXCLUSIVE BIG VALLEY NEWS EDITORIAL

Madera
- This Saturday my kids are taking their baseball photos for the Madera National Little League. Except this year there is a new photographer with a new contract. That photographer is Gomes Images owned by Billy and Cathy Gomes.

 
Both of the Gomes are on the board of directors for the Madera National Little League. Only Mr. Gomes was elected by the general population of the league. Mrs. Gomes was appointed weeks after the general election.
Read more...
 
One Bad Apple Might Spoil Madera Schools Success Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Saturday, 02 April 2011 18:56

Another Exclusive Big Valley News Editorial

Madera
- Madera Unified’s John Adams Elementary School is being led by a "lame duck" principal who was recently reassigned back to the classroom by the school district. Under his leadership the multiple award winning “California Distinguished School” failed to meet its federal goals last year for the first time. One more failure and the school that was once the “Golden Apple” of the district with the highest test scores, will fall into Program Improvement (PI) status and be on probation.

Read more...
 
Teacher Work Slow Down: MUTA Needs Leadership Without A Personal Agenda Print E-mail
News - Opinion
Written by B|V|N Newsroom   
Monday, 07 March 2011 05:43
Another Exclusive Big Valley News Editorial

Madera - On the front page above the fold of Saturday’s Madera Tribune there was a photo of a smiling lady with the headline, “Teachers call for work slow down”. Why is this lady smiling and what is the story behind her smile?
 
A work slow down will only hurt the students; our children. Grades won’t be recorded in a timely manner. Progress reports won’t get to parents so that a student falling behind can get the help they need. Appropriate time will not be put into the development of lesson plans so that our students get the information they need to learn.

Why is this lady smiling when our children are going to suffer from a work slow down?

Read more...
 
«StartPrev1234567NextEnd»

Page 6 of 7

Tell a Friend

Masthead

BIG VALLEY MEDIA
1625 Howard Road #133
Madera, California 93637
(559) 477-4275

JW Porter - Publisher/Editor
Over 6 Million Served Since 1997

Make Us Your Homepage

ADMIN